Beijing, China – Grinders Wing Night

In the neighborhood of Shuangjng, my neighborhood, just one subway stop from China’s World Trade Center, is one of the best sandwich shops in Beijing.

Grinders.

As the name would suggest, the menu’s trademark offering is huge grinder style sandwiches, made to order in a number of delicious variations.

They also televise American football and have Rogue Dead Guy Ale on tap.

Needless to say, Grinders has become a sort of home away from home for us, an oasis of familiarity, salvation from the constant madness and confusion that comes with living in Beijing.

While sitting at the bar one night, enjoying a half-price Dead Guy Ale during happy hour, I overheard the Canadian-born proprietor talking about his need to take some promo shots for the Grinders website.  He was pissed because he left his camera at home.

“That sucks,” I say to Roshni before knocking back another sip from my pint.

Roshni stares at me blankly, smacks me on my shoulder, and motions to my camera bag resting next to me on the bar.

Oh, right.

“I can take a few shots for you if you’d like…I have my camera with me.”

“What’ll it cost me?” He responded with delightful surprise.

Considering this was my first time taking on a project of this nature – and the fact that this is the guy who will be pouring the majority of our drinks for the next 8 months – I decided to accept in exchange for two pints of Dead Guy.

Done.

I’ve already included some of the better images taken; the rest can be seen in the gallery below:

Leave a comment